DALE CROVER (The Melvins) Premieres Solo Track “Hillbilly Math”!

Photo Credit: Shervin Lainez

As the release of Dale Crover’s (Melvins) debut solo album, ‘The Fickle Finger of Fate’ (Aug. 4, ), gets closer, the legendary drummer shares a second new song from the 20-track album, “Hillbilly Math,” The album which releases August 4th via Joyful Noise Recordings was co-produced by Crover and longtime partner-in-crime Toshi Kasai. Crover played the bulk of the instruments on the collection (guitar, keyboards, drums) as well as vocals. Guests include Redd Kross’ Steven McDonald, Dan Southwick (Altamont) and Crover’s adorable 11-year-old daughter Scarlett who assists with violin, percussion and vocals.

Amongst his 30-plus-year career as one half of the essential Melvins’ roster, Crover has contributed to countless albums ranging from platinum-plated classics (Nirvana’s ‘Bleach’) to seminal cult LPs. However, up until this point, Crover’s solo efforts have been limited to the Melvins’ 1992 KISS-themed solo EP, and a couple of intermittent 7” releases. ‘The Fickle Finger of Fate’ has its beginnings in the bizarre, six spindle-holed 12-sided record (yes you heard that right), “Skins.” In 2016, Crover was more or less “commissioned” to compose twelve 30-second songs to satisfy the requirements of this crazy record format. The fugues created through this haiku-like exercise ended up providing the basis of what would become ‘The Fickle Finger of Fate’. “’Hillbilly Math” is a Stones-y little number in G,” says Crover. “I was thinking of the characters from ‘Gummo’ and ‘Deliverance’ when I wrote this.” Prior to releasing “Hillbilly Math” Crover also released the track “Little Brother” earlier in the month and can be heard below as well.

‘The Fickle Finger of Fate’ Tracklist:

01 “Chicken Ala King”
02 “Bad Move”
03 “The Members Bounce”
04 “None, No More”
05 “Hillbilly Math”
06 “String Bean”
07 “The Short Con”
08 “Little Brother”
09 “Tiny Sound”
10 “Slide On Up”
11 “Big Uns”
12 “Prismo”
13 “Giant Hunka Cake”
14 “Fickle Finger Of Fate”
15 “Thunder Pinky”
16 “Horse Pills”
17 “There Goes The Neighborhood”
18 “Our Supreme Leader”
19 “I Found The Way Out”
20 “Vulnavia”




Tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Fist

Greetings and salutations. Call me Fist, I'm a proud Kentuckian and I've used metal to help me get through the suffering of living in the bible belt. I am an encyclopedia of metal. I'm a fan of all types of metal. My main goal here is to help people find more music they will fall in love with. Hope you enjoy our words! \m/

Comments are closed.